Home | Contact Us | University | عربي
Dean's Message

Welcome to the Faculty of Science at IUG- an extraordinary community of scholars who have come together to learn and discover. Our community-students, faculty, postdoctoral fellows, research associates and staff-share a passion for science and a deep pride in our educational and research programs spanning the life, physical, mathematical and computational sciences.

The Faculty of Science was established in 1980 and, after two years of IUG establishment, has continued to fulfill its primary roles of teaching and research by producing some excellent Palestinian science graduates, and numerous high prestige research publications.

The Faculty consists of seven departments (Mathematics, physics, chemistry, OPTOMETRY, Medical Laboratory Sciences, Biology and Geology) each offering a range of study-units at undergraduate and postgraduate levels. The main undergraduate programme offered is the four-year joint honours B.Sc. degree course, where students can choose a combination of two subject areas offered by Faculty of Science departments as well as some departments from other Faculties.

All departments have active research programmes in various fields of specialisation and also offer M.Sc. associated with the research interests of the academic body. Some Departments are also responsible for rendering essential specialised services for the community.  For example, the Medical Laboratory Sciences Department runs the genetic lab which provides services to the public. These range from detecting mutations, to analyzing predisposition to disease, to identifying illnesses in the unborn fetus, in addition to explaining the possible risks due to genetic influences in pregnancies and methods of their prevention.

In brief, I am confident that our sincere efforts for pursuit of excellence will create a better place for students and staff to imagine and explore the impossible. 

Dr. Nezam M. Al-Ashgar

Faculty of Science Dean